top of page


Our Councillors
Councillor Jonty Blackwell

07808 927910

Norfolk ALC Representative, IT Assisting with Website 

Councillor Rosemary Neave

07748 225980

Public Transport, Play Area, Poor and Townlands Charity.

Councillor Pippa Cocker
Councillor Lynn Parker

Councillor Brian Higgins

07590 323865

Co-ordinating village events, Village Facebook Liaison. 

About the Parish Council


At present there are five parish councillors and their details are below. There are vacancies for two residents to complete the full allocation of seven parish councillors for Hockering. Any issues should be directed to the parish clerk in the first instance.​

The Role of a Councillor


They are elected to represent the interest of the local community as a whole and promote a harmonious local environment. The number of elected Councillors depends on the size of the area, in Hockering we are able to have 7 Councillors.


Local Councils are the first tier of governance and are the first point of contact for anyone concerned with a community issue. They are democratically elected local authorities and exist in England, Wales and Scotland. The term 'Local Council' is synonymous with ' Parish Council, 'Town Council' and 'Community Council'.


Local Councils are made up of locally  elected Councillors. They are legally obliged to hold at least four meetings a year.  Most meet on a monthly cycle to discuss council business and hear from local residents.  District and County Councillors regularly attend parish meetings and report at the Annual Parish meeting. Councillors are expected to attend meetings on a regular basis.​

Councillors must abide by a Code of Conduct, a set of rules on how Councillors are expected to behave. They must also declare their financial interests in the parish, details of which are kept by the District Council.

bottom of page